HomeEntertainmentLOC for the 12th African Arm-wrestling Championship Inaugurated

LOC for the 12th African Arm-wrestling Championship Inaugurated

A 12-member Local Organising Committee(LOC) has been inaugurated to oversee the organization and hosting of 12th African Armwrestling Championship in Accra.

The Championship scheduled for 21st-25th April, 2023 at the GNAT Hall forms parts of preparations by participating countries to raise a National Team for the All African Games slated for 2014.

Inaugurating the Committe, the Deputy Minister for Youth and Sports (MOYS), Hon. Evans Opoku Bobie, commended the leadership of the Ghana Arm Wrestling Federation for their efforts in winning the bid to host the 12th edition of the African Armwrestling Championship in Ghana.

He entreated all stakeholders to work towards the successful hosting of the Championship considering the benefits it will bring to the economy such as boosting foreign investment and tourism in Ghana.

Mr. Bobie further assured the Federation of the Ministry ‘s support for the tournament.

Similarly, Prof. Peter Twumasi, the Director General of the National Sports noted the contributions of Armwrestling to sports development and promotion though a Young Sport in Ghana.

He added that the Sport has a promising future in Ghana and pledged his Outfit’s support in ensuring that the right structures are put in place for a successful hosting in of the Tournament.

President of the Federation, Mr. Charles Osei Asibey on his part, expressed delight in hosting the African Championship for the 2nd time adding that over the
last 4years, the Association has been privileged to have won over 174 medals for Ghana.

He highlighted the Championship will have twenty African countries as participants.

Accepting to facilitate the hosting of the Championship, Mr. Adjei Sowah, the Chairman for the LOC assured Ghanaians of their commitment to deliver a successful event.

Members of the Committee are, Edwin Amankwah – Vice Chairman
Pharm. Kofi Addo-Agyekum, DCOP Lydia Donkor, Nii Otoo Larkyne,Mrs Gifty Oware-Aboagye Dr Prince Pambo and Dr Marc Dzradosi.

The rest are Robert Appiah Ameyaw, Jonathan Lambert Awuletey, Richard Oppong Ansong, Hubert Leo-Mensah – and Rhodaline Owusu Ansong.

Source: Ghana/Sompaonline.com

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments

[radio_player id="225"]